JMC2018 - Grenoble - 27-31 August 2018

JMC 2018 in Grenoble

Venue: University Campus (Saint-Martin-d'Hères), Université Grenoble Alpes
Dates: Monday 27 August - Friday 31 August 2018

Since 1988, the "Journées de la Matière Condensée"(JMC) are organized every even year by the Division of Condensed Matter Physics of the French Physics Society (SFP). The main covered topics correspond to all areas of condensed matter, from concepts to applications. The success of the JMC (600-700 attendees) renders this conference the biggest congress on Physics in France. The 16th edition will be held in Grenoble from 27th to 31st of August 2018.

The organizing committee, lead by Robert Whitney (LPMMC), is composed of people from the main laboratories in consended matter in Grenoble (CNRS, CEA,  Large instruments, University,...) and thus represents the full breadth of condensed matter.

Plenary speakers

  • Isabelle Cantat (IPR, Rennes) Soap films 
  • Eric Collet (IPR, Rennes) ultra-rapid analysis of the structure of matter - Prize-giving: Ancel Prize (SFP) 2017 
  • Sara Ducci (LMPQ, Paris) Correlated photons in semiconductors - Prize-giving: Ancel Prize (SFP) 2016
  • Silvano De Franceschi (INAC, Grenoble) Qubits and quantum engineering
  • Marina Galand (Imperial College, UK) Planetary atmospheres - Prize-giving: Holweck Prize (SFP & IOP) 2018
  • Emmanuelle Gouillart (CNRS/Saint-Gobain, Aubervilliers) In-situ study of glass formation
  • Roland Horisberger (PSI, Switzerland) Silicon detectors for particle physics - Prize-giving: Charpak-Ritz Prize (SFP & SPS) 2018
  • Hamid Kellay (LOMA, Bordeaux) Turbulence and fluid mechanics
  • Cyril Proust (LNMCI, Toulouse) 30 years of high temperature superconductivity
  • André Thiaville (LPS, Paris-Sud) Magnetism and Skyrmions




Semi-plenary speakers

  • Basile Audoly (Caltech, USA) Mechanics of viscous filaments
  • Jacqueline Bloch (C2N, Paris-Sud) Polaritons
  • Lionel Bureau (LiPhy, Grenoble) Bio-inspired systems 
  • Virginie Chamard (Institut Fresnel, Marseille) coherent x-ray diffraction
  • Valentina Giordano (ILM, Lyon) Glasses and x-rays
  • Mark Goerbig (LPS, Paris-Sud) The theory of 2D materials
  • Sophie Guéron (LPS, Paris-Sud) Mesoscopic physics
  • Lionel Hirsch  (IMS, Bordeaux) Polymer solar cells 
  • Etienne Janod (IMN, Nantes) Physico-chemistry of materials and strong electronic correlations 
  • Xavier Noblin (INPHYNI, Nice) Physics of plants
  • Daniel Riveline (IGBMC, Strasbourg) Physics in Biological systems
  • Guillaume Schull (IPCMS, Strasbourg) STM on unique molecules
  • Virginie Simonet (Institut Néel, Grenoble) Magnetism and spin-ice
  • Maria Tchernycheva (C2N, Paris-Sud) Semi-conductor nanowires
  • Matthieu Wyart (EPFL, Switzerland) Theory of amorphous and granular solids 





© Sylvie Jacob 2018






Online user: 1 RSS Feed